Click here to download the

PDF version of the this IVMA

January 2011 Newsletter.


Click here to download the PDF version of this IVMA newsletter.

Microchipping Issues Addressed

By Cantrell Strenski & Mehringer, LLP, Attorneys at Law

Several recent questions by IVMA members regarding microchips have prompted IVMA legal counsel to provide this information for your benefit. As always, consult with your own legal counsel on specific legal questions and situations.

QUESTIONS: (1) Do veterinarians have a legal or ethical duty to scan animals for microchips? (2) What are the veterinarianís options if the client does not want the pet scanned? (3) Lastly, what are a veterinarianís obligations if the client and the information from the microchip donít coincide?

SHORT ANSWER: (1) Probably, yes. New patient scanning is recognized as a good practice. (2) Refusal to treat at the veterinarianís discretion. (3) Depends on the services requested, but generally no obligation to become involved in ownership disputes.

ANALYSIS: Unfortunately, there is a ďvery big gray zoneĒ when it comes to microchips and the responsibility of veterinarians to sort out ownership.

There is very little in terms of statutory or regulatory guidelines and there is little to no legal precedent specifically outlining a veterinarianís obligation to scan and report ownership. In light of the paucity of other guidance, the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) was prompted to update its policy on scanning for microchips.

To read the rest of this article online, click here.

To read the rest of this article in a downloadable PDF, click here.


2010, Where Did You Go?!?


This past year seems like a blur as I reflect back on my time serving as your IVMA president. 


As I stood before you almost one year ago to begin my term, I mentioned that I looked at the year as an open book test. And you, the membership, would be where I turned for the answers.


Well you didnít disappoint. I continue to marvel at the incredibly talented and giving members that make up our association.


Without the numerous board members, committee members and volunteers that give so much of their time and energy, we would not be the active, functional organization that we are.


In March, your IVMA Board of Directors adopted the following goals:

  #1 Review Agriculture/Animal Welfare Issues,

  #2 Study Veterinary Business Issues,

  #3 Increase/Improve Membership Numbers in the IVMA,

  #4 Improve IVMA PR/Marketing/Communication and

  #5 Assess Continuing Education/Learning.

Our committees and task forces have been extra busy working on these goals.


First, the Public Relations Committee made our new logo and tagline a reality. It was a big change, but one Iím particularly proud of. The Membership Committee has been newly energized, looking to increase membership numbers and involvement.


They are working on different ways to reach out to veterinary students and recent graduates to engage them within our association. The Animal Welfare Committee continues to find deserving recipients for their annual awards.


To read the rest of this article online, click here.

To read the rest of this article in a downloadable PDF, click here.


Indiana Veterinary
Medical Association
201 South Capitol Avenue
Suite 405
Indianapolis, Indiana 46225
(317) 974-0888
(317) 974-0985 fax
(800) 270-0747

Executive Director
Lisa A. Perius

The Hoosier Veterinarian is
the official publication of the
Indiana Veterinary Medical
Association and is
published six times a year.

IVMA Board of Directors
Dr. Steve Sunbury
President Elect
Dr. Lori Thompson
Vice President
Dr. Paul Clemente
Immediate Past President
Dr. Pete Bill
Dr. Aileen McDivitt
AVMA Delegate
Dr. John Schnarr
AVMA Alternate Delegate
Dr. Jim Weisman
District I
District II
Dr. Mimi Arighi
District III
Dr. Richard Brungardt
District IV
Dr. Bill Kerley
District V
Dr. Adam Vernengo
District VI
Kimberly Anderson, Purdue
District VII
Dr. Gayland Jones
District VIII
Dr. John Feutz
District IX
Dr. Paul Stahly
District X
Dr. Nathan Rich
District XI
Dr. Phil Borst
District XII
Dr. James Hollis
District XIII
Dr. Larry Stauffer
District XIV
Dr. Roger Beam
District XV
Dr. Amy Lanum